WARNING: RANT ZONE AHEAD

WTF?!?!

You are now about to see a demonstration of why I try to stick with humor as my favorite theme for blogging. Cause when I start ranting, sometimes it’s just not a pretty sight.

Less than 15 minutes ago, for the second time in less than three months, I almost ran down a high school aged girl with my car! Why? Because she walked right out in front of my car, that’s why! Never bothered to look before she crossed the street – just walked right out into the road in front of me, while totally oblivious to oncoming traffic, or anything else in the world external to her own state of mindlessness.

This really pisses me off! Why? Because if I hadn’t been paying close attention to my driving at the very instant she walked right in front of my oncoming car, she would now be in a hospital or maybe even in a morgue. And she would be on my conscience for the rest of my life. And it wouldn’t make me feel any better that she was being a mindless idiot when I hit her… Not one fucking bit! I’d be grief stricken for her, for her family and for anyone who loves her and cares about her.

 

Maybe she’s too busy doing shit like this on Facebook, to be aware of how to survive out in the real world.

Even if the authorities and ambulance chasers exonerated me, and declared that I was not at fault for hitting her (extremely doubtful, however true) I’d still probably end up with endless nightmares interspersed with chronic insomnia, and have to be treated for PTSD, and all because she couldn’t grasp one of the most basic things that (I assume) all mothers still teach their children at an early age – which is “Look both ways before crossing the street.”

Her mom probably did teach her this… But it’s no good if she refuses to remember it, or pay any attention before walking directly in front of my two ton vehicle moving at 35 mph and risking an impact that could either kill her or maim her for life.

What if I’d been driving in a distracted state of mind at the very instant she walked in front of my oncoming car? What if I was blabbing on my cell phone, or thinking about the totally unfair ass whipping that my boss gave me at work today? Would she now be headed for an early grave, or maybe a life confined to a wheel chair, starting at age 17?

I don’t blab on cell phones while driving forward in a vehicle capable of destroying lives, and what almost just happened today, is the biggest reason why. But I’m only human… and sometimes the issues and hardships of life can take my mind off of the road in front of me, for maybe a second or two – which is all the time that is needed to cause a tragedy out on the road. And just try and tell me that you have always been 100% aware of the road in front of you, during every single second while you’ve been driving, throughout your life.

But there was no tragedy today for me, or for her… just as there was no tragedy the previous time with that other girl, less than three months ago. Because both times, my mind was totally focused on driving and the road in front of me… Which is how I always try to be when I drive a car…

But I know that I’ll never always be aware of everything, every single time I’m driving, and so someday, someone may mindlessly entrust their entire life and well being to me, because they’re not paying any attention at all, and depend on me to be alert for them, in order to save their life…

WTF?!?!

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WARNING: RANT ZONE AHEAD

  1. I understand exactly what you mean. I see this way too often these days. Not just pedestrians, either; I see it quite a bit from drivers of other cars. They just act like they are the only thing in the world and completely safe. People need to wake up and pay attention. Not everyone behind the wheel is paying attention to what you’re doing when you do something stupid. As you point out, no matter what the verdict in a court case like this, everyone is a victim. You would have to live with that the rest of your life no matter whose fault it was. -shaking my head-

  2. xdeviantonex says:

    When I was working for best buy I had so airhead walk in front of me and when I hit the horn her man boy decided to try and puff out his chest and stand in front of my car. Not gauging my size very well because of my car, I proceeded to out it in park and get out. The shock on his face when a man a foot taller and at least 100-150 lbs heavier got out made him back down really quick and go in to my store. Needless to say I screwed with him more when I came around the corner in uniform to ask him if they needed help! Roadrunner never moved that quick to leave.

  3. PiedType says:

    I still remember precisely the moment thirty years ago when I accidentally ran a red light and realized it before I’d even cleared the intersection. Fortunately I didn’t hit anyone, but I’ve no doubt if I had, I’d still be trying to get over it.

Leave a Reply

