You’re Magic

We were fooling around with the camera the other day, and I took this picture of you. It’s one of those rare shots that went deeper than just your physical appearance and captured your soul. Sunlight streaming in from the window weaved magic highlights in your hair and illuminated the light of love, gentleness and compassion from deep within you. This image couldn’t be more you, and your eyes unmistakably shine with your love for me.

I never truly knew what it really meant to be loved, until I was loved by you.

How did I get so lucky to have you in my life? For 24 years you have seen all there is to see, and known all there is to know… about the very best as well as the very worst of who I am, and yet you can still look back at me with your eyes filled with love. What did I do, to deserve you?

You’re the woman who walked a wild woodland meadow with me, amidst the many hues of fresh green growth, brightly illuminated by the warmth of life giving sun. We were witness to wild flowers creating a riot of multi colors everywhere, as if we had walked into a French Impressionist painting. Iridescently shimmering blue and green humming birds buzzed and hovered above the flowers, darting down to sip sweet nectar from the blossoms.

When you suddenly exclaimed “Strawberries!” and then you dropped to your knees in the grass and found them there. Tiny wild red strawberries on green vines low to the ground, and yet you found them there, because you could smell their strawberry scent in the warm and gentle summer breeze air. Which was just one more way that you’ve convinced me that you’re magic…

We climbed up a steep ridge in a hard cold rain, and yet you smiled happily all the same, even while I cursed our luck when the sun refused to shine for us, and grey clouds and thick fog obscured our view. We were cold and soaked to the bone, and yet within you an inner light of contentment still shone, and you were at peace.

But when we got to the top, the rain stopped, and as if on cue, all the fog dissipated and the thickly opaque clouds parted, revealing and expanding our view of the expansive valley down below, and distant mountain peaks on the other side. And you smiled with the delight and wonder of a child in a beautiful woman’s body… And then you smiled at me, and you said “This was meant to be.” and I knew that you were right, because you’re magic.

We climbed to the top of a waterfall, a white torrent of falling water that splashed far down on the rocks beneath, creating a glittering cloud of spray highlighted by a small rainbow in the sun. The coolness of the falling water from the mountains above, air conditioned the oppressive summer heat, and we were refreshed by a gentle mist drifting and falling on us, gently kissing and cooling the sweat from our faces.

This was one of those magical places, where just away from the trail, there were deeply green moss covered rocks, and a cloak of large and broad leafed ferns to hide us from view. And there, without a word spoken, we laid down together in a bed of soft green moss, deep and plush, and more comforting than any mattress, and with the music of falling water in our ears, we spontaneously became lovers once again. And once again I knew, that it was all because of you… because you’re magic.

We have so many shared memories now – some of excruciating pain and strife, and many more of the most intimate joys of a life we have shared together. But throughout it all, I have never doubted your love for me, because just like here in this picture, it shines out for all to see. But most of all, I know that you’re looking at me… and I love you with all my heart and soul, and my very being. How could I not?

After 24 years of seeing all the countless ways during so many nights and days, in which you My Love, have always been there for me, then and now, just as I know you’ll always be there for me now and forever more… just as you’ve always been there for me before, just as you are right now – Because you’re truly magic…

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to You’re Magic

  1. Absolutely beautiful!!!! You are BOTH so very lucky to have one another. That is so rare in this world. I hope to see you both in your rocking chairs on your front porch in retirement together (with laptop in hand and blogging, of course.) :D

  2. omg that made me cry Chris! Beautiful. I hope one day to have something similar written about me by a man ..

    PS Maybe what you did to deserve her was love her too? :)

  3. benzeknees says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your lovely wife! You’re very lucky to have her in your life as I’m sure she’s lucky to have you as well. Hand in hand, head off into the sunset . . .

    • benzeknees says:

      Came across this quote not long after reading your post & I think it aptly applies: “Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means that you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.” ~ Inspirational Quotes ~
      A good definition of love in my eyes!

  4. morgan wyatt says:

    Brought a tear to my eye. You two have learned the secret of the universe. You are blessed…with each other.

Leave a Reply

