Won’t Be Forgetting THIS Date Anytime Soon!

This extra day that we’re getting in February of 2012 has been one too many for me!

Let me tell you how things started out for me this morning… At 7:30 AM I was walking out the door to go to work. Except that I couldn’t leave right away, because my wife’s car was blocking mine in the driveway. A minor irritation and a problem easily solved – just move her car. Life would be great if all problems had such a simple solution.

But then the simple problem suddenly became complicated in a very bizarre and threatening way. As I was about to get into my wife’s car to move it, a tow truck pulled up and stopped, blocking the entrance to our driveway. A guy got out of the tow truck – He looked to be about 28 years old, medium to slightly thin build, and maybe about 5′ 9″ tall, weighing approximately 170 lbs. He was wearing a baseball cap and wrap around dark iridescent mirror sunglasses, like baseball players often wear to cut down the glare on a very bright and sunny summer day. Which was strange, because the early morning sky was a heavy grey overcast, and there was no need for sunglasses – unless you’re someone who has a reason to not want to be easily recognized.

He had some paperwork in his hands, and demanded to confirm my name, with that same voice of authority that cops use when ready to make an arrest. I looked straight into the dark but slightly rainbow hue of his sunglasses and confirmed that he had my name right.

He then told me that he was going to repossess my 2007 Ford Mustang. I looked coldly back into his sunglasses and in a deadly monotone, I told him that there was no way that this would be happening, because my car was paid for, up to date, and whatever paper work that he was holding in his hands wasn’t worth shit, because it was wrong. I also told him to move his tow truck away from blocking my driveway so I could get to work on time.

He cocked his head to one side, and in a cocky and condescending voice, he said “OK, so let’s see some proof of your last payment.” I replied that I owed him no proof of anything, and that he could go fuck himself, “so just get that fucking tow truck out of my way!”

He laughed at me, and replied “You guys are all the same. You can’t pay your bills cause you got no money, then you try and deny it. I’m taking your car, dude… and that’s a fact, so why don’t we just get this over with, without you being just another sad and pathetic excuse for a man.”

Standing up straight to my full height of 5′ 11″ and the muscles of my 220 lbs filling up with the boiling hot blood of my anger, I stared back at him with my eyes now furiously blazing and boring burning holes into his stupid shades, as I growled back, “First of all, you are a fucking parasite and a whore who feeds off of other people’s misery, and I don’t know how you sleep at night. You’re no better than a human maggot, and just nothing but disgusting filth pretending to be a man. But that’s besides the point, and the real point is, that whoever sent you here is dead wrong, and you have no right to be here. So get the fuck out of my sight!”

He took a step backward and when he spoke, his voice was just slightly higher than before, and then he laughed an insecure laugh, and said “Dude! I’ve heard all this shit before! I’m taking your car, because you didn’t pay for it, and you don’t fucking own it. It’s not yours anymore – it’s mine, and I’m taking it!”

My rage slightly calmed as I answered, “And how exactly are you going to do that, ‘grape nuts’? My wife’s car is blocking mine, and I know that you know, that you have no right to touch her car. There’s a concrete retaining wall in front of my car at the end of the driveway, so even if you drove around the house and tried to tow it away from the backyard, that isn’t gonna happen. So what are ya gonna do… Use your psychic powers to levitate my car out of my driveway? Huh?  Why don’t you just run along and play ‘junior’! I spat back at him. “You’re just wasting your time here. Go victimize someone else, cause it’s just not gonna happen this time.”

Mirror shades boy took another two steps backward as I leaned towards him, as now my anger, rage and contempt for him was impossible to hold back. He laughed nervously, and replied weakly, that he’d just come back another time and repo my car.

My only answer was to pull out my cell phone and say “I’m calling the police now, so maybe you’d better leave.” He did…

So you are probably wondering what happened to cause all this… which would be a reasonable question. The answer is, that Ford Credit neglected to credit my most recent car payment to them, which I paid on time, for the month of January, 2012. A clerical error caused Ford Credit to miss my last car payment, and so they used a towing contractor by the name of  Ocean State to try and repossess my car. Just for the record, Ocean State’s phone number is 401-431-1744. If you’re in the mood to play phone jokes like “Prince Albert in a Can” please feel free to give them a call. If you think of something worse, please tell me, and I will always remember you fondly.

This is my car. I bought it in 2007, and three car payments from now, in May of 2012, I will own it in full, and I will have possession of the title that is irrefutable proof that I own this car.

If any “Repo Man” who shows up after May 5th of 2012, tries to steal what is absolutely mine, he should fear for his life… because I will view his presence as an invasion of my home and my life, and I will shoot out all the tires of his tow truck. And then, other very bad things might happen to him. Be afraid… be very afraid, you miserable Muthafuckers!!!

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Won’t Be Forgetting THIS Date Anytime Soon!

  1. Good for you! Don’t let the assholes get you down!

  2. Greedy bastards. If you had not have paid your January payment, pretty damn quick for them to show up to repo. And without even contacting you prior to doing so. If they had a clerical error, then they should have called, emailed or snail mailed wondering where your payment was – and then you would have been able to clear the muddy waters. Ugh… glad you stood your ground and that your wife’s car was there to make it easier. If it wasn’t, well… do they allow bloggers to post from jail? :lol:

    • I’d agree with that description. Ford Credit claimed to have sent me a certified letter that stated their intentions, but I never received it, and after I checked with the US Postal service, they had no record of any certified letter.
      Yes, it was a very good thing that my wife’s car was there, and I doubt that they allow bloggers to post from jail. But my wife did promise to come and visit me, if it ever comes to that. Lol

  3. RFL says:

    It’s a little weird to say this because I don’t know you, but I’m proud of you for standing up to this guy. What a bunch of assholes.

  4. greatmartin says:

    Puhleeze–how could you forget this date–it is my 19th birthday!!!!!

  5. benzeknees says:

    It seems very strange to me they would show up to repossess your car after only 1 missed car payment. And what about Feb’s payment? If they tried to claim you hadn’t made January’s payment, but had credited you with Feb?s payment you would have only been a few days behind at the end of Feb.
    I’ve never had a car repossessed or anything but I think it’s quite different here in Canada – I believe you would have to be a min. of 3 payments behind before they could even start the process.
    Good on you for sticking up for yourself!

    • Must confess some personal responsibility here. While January’s payment absolutely was made, I did forget to make February’s payment, so what happened was the result of a combination of their mistakes and my mistake. Still think that all this could have been handled far more professionally on their end, since as someone else mentioned, just a phone call could have averted all this. But hey, maybe Ford Credit likes to try and repossess cars when a five year loan is only a handful of payments away from being paid in full! Thanks for your support, Lynda.

  6. Oh, that woulda been horrible Chris! Thank goodness for the wall and missus’ car!

    I had a debt collector / bailiff come knocking once.

    The creep left the gate unlatched (it was shut when I left the property!) along with his card on my doorstep & a note saying he’d be back to ‘claim possessions’ unless I contacted them asap ..

    DO YOUR HOMEWORK JERK OFF .. He was after the previous owners of this house!

    I called him up and suggested next time he drop by he’d perhaps like to be aware that he’d be met with 2 snarling guard dogs that I’d just purchased in order to keep scum (inference clearly being I meant him!) out .. I believe I finished the call wishing him good luck with stealing anything off my property because if he came near me or my house ever again and survived the dogs, I was gonna call the cops.

    Never heard from him again….

    • No, it wasn’t exactly a real fun way to start my day, and yes it was a very good thing that the human slime ball had no way of touching my car… What happened in your situation is disgusting as well, but I think that you handled it very well. Thanks for your comment, Frederique.

  7. PiedType says:

    Whether it was one payment or two, they were being terribly trigger-happy with the repo. Between now and the final payment, I’d be keeping a really close eye on that car, always parking the wife’s car behind it, etc. (Mine stays in the garage, but I realize it’s rare to have that kind of garage space these days.)

    BTW, thanks for visiting my place.

    • They won’t be getting a second shot at my car. I’ve decided to pay off the balance in full, as of tomorrow.
      Thanks for the comment, and you’re welcome! I’m sure I’ll be stopping by again.

  8. dinkerson says:

    I’ve typed six different curse riddled, spastic rants here, and deleted them.

    Damn, this makes me mad. I way to keep your cool… kinda.

    Sounds like he needed to leave. Good thing he knew what was best for’im.

Leave a Reply

