Gas Attack!!!

This past Sunday night, for the first time in many years, I was the not so proud owner of a skunked dog. Jean took Bo out for his evening walk and when she returned, she shouted “I think Bo just got sprayed by a skunk!” Before I had time to even think, Bo was bounding into the kitchen door behind her! Within two seconds it was obvious that yes Bo had definitely been sprayed by a skunk, as the kitchen filled up with an incredibly noxious gas that hit me so hard that I felt like it was gonna knock me over!

In the next two seconds, I saw Bo headed for our dining room! I didn’t think, I just reacted as I grabbed Bo by the collar and yanked all 80 pounds of him away the entrance to the living room and dragged him back into the kitchen, and slammed the door shut so he couldn’t get into the rest of the house. In less than a minute, the kitchen was so saturated with skunk gas that we were both gagging and our eyes were starting to burn!

“What do we do?!” Jean shouted, her voice rising with anxiety.

“Put him on his leash and get him back outside!” I shouted back, while trying not to be sick. Jean leashed the dog and got him out of the kitchen and outdoors. I rushed to my study gagging all the way, stood at my keyboard and typed “skunk household remedies” into Google. Mercifully, the results came up almost instantly. The ingredients were all things I could get my hands on in just a few minutes; hydrogen peroxide, baking soda, shampoo, and water.

In less than five minutes, I had the ingredients mixed and rushed a bucket of it out to the dog, and my wife and I began saturating him with it, using old towels to thoroughly rub it all over his face and head, and then the rest of him.

It worked remarkably well. The instructions said to leave the solution on him for at least 15 minutes, and then thoroughly wash him with shampoo, and then rinse him down. When we completed this, almost all of the skunk spray was gone, and we could bring him back into the house.

But our kitchen still reeked of skunk gas. So I quickly cranked open both frames of the large casement window in the kitchen, and then raced down into the cellar to grab a strong floor fan, plug it in, and blow the skunk gas out of the kitchen. This also worked very well.

Later that night, we were able to go to sleep in a remarkably skunk free house, with the skunked dog spending the night indoors, down in the basement. We didn’t get away completely free, because last night the dog smelled disagreeably skunky again, though nothing like just after he got hit. I read that the treatment we gave him, would need to be repeated twice a week, for three weeks before this was all behind us. Skunk spray is incredibly powerful stuff.

Yes, Bo… You’re a fine dog, and we still love you.

The internet can be a wonderful thing. When I ran to the computer and launched my search, I had no idea if I’d get the info I was looking for. But the information I got was ideal and just what we needed.

So if your dog ever gets sprayed by a skunk, here’s what you can do:

Skunk Odor Remover:

The following is a home remedy for skunk stench:

1 quart of 3% hydrogen peroxide

1 quart of luke warm water

1/4 cup of baking soda (Arm & Hammer)

1 tablespoon shampoo

Mix hydrogen peroxide with water. Add baking soda and shampoo. Mix and pour into a squirt bottle or sprayer. (in a real emergency, just throw it all into a bucket) Spray entire contents onto dog, being careful not to get directly into the eyes or nose. Let stand for 15 minutes while working the solution into the fur. Shampoo and rinse.

This is just what we did, and it really worked!

I hope you never have the “pleasure” to go through this little drill… But if you do, here’s a solution, and Good Luck!!!

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Gas Attack!!!

  1. benzeknees says:

    Never done it myself but I had heard tomato juice works really well! Sorry to hear Bo got sprayed. I have a skunk story I will share on my blog in my Wilds of NW Ont series which will continue when I finally get my photos downloaded to my computer.

    • Apparently from what I’ve read, the tomato juice remedy doesn’t work very well. I also remember when I was a kid we had a Lassie like Collie dog that got sprayed, and my parents used lots of tomato juice on her. The skunk odor wasn’t as bad, but it was still very strong and our Collie’s white mane around her neck turned light orange. Lol
      Looking forward to your skunk story, and thanks for stopping by.

  2. Phew! What a night! Glad it worked out for you. There is no worse smell!

  3. Maaannnnn…nobody’s thought about doggie night vision goggles. Wanna business partner with me Chris? :). That is the worst of the worst, other than rolling in crap that happens in the Spring..during mating season. I’m saving this formula for my next divorce. My best back to you!
    PKC

    • Doggie night vision goggles? :-) Who knows – it could be the next big thing! Or at least a YouTube video of a dog wearing them would probably go viral. Lol
      Saving this formula for your next divorce? LOL – You’re a funny guy, PKC! :-)

  4. RFL says:

    Oh, that is the worst smell. Sorry for you two and your puppy!

  5. Summer says:

    I’ve had dogs my whole life and have yet to have one get skunked! I’m rather surprised…. I’ve been so fortunate. Thanks for the skunk remover recipe, I’d have just tried tomato juice! And your dog is beautiful!!!!!

    • Yes, you are fortunate and I hope your luck continues. (knocks on wood for you) A while back, we had another dog that got a face full of porcupine quills and that was pretty bad too. You’re welcome on the recipe, and thanks! We think he’s pretty special too – even after getting skunked. I don’t think he’s ever seen a skunk before, and he probably thought it was a cat. If there’s a next time, I hope he’s smart enough to stay away.

  6. LOL… I had a dog once that looked not-unlike Bo. White, short haired, and an English Bulldog mix. Well, she got skunked, too. I tried the tomato juice bath. Didn’t work… but she was lightly pink-colored for a while….

    • Bo’s a Lab – Dalmatian – Pit bull mix, but his personality is very Lab like and he’s friendly with everyone – even total strangers. And yeah, I guess the tomato juice is just good for hair color tinting on white dogs. Lol

      • Abby looked so funny after that both. Yeah, I can see the Pit in him. And all pit’s I’ve met have been as loving and sweet as a Lab or Golden or many other dogs. So Bo may be loving because he has pit in him… :)

        • Lol – I can imagine. We got Bo at a shelter when he was 2 years old, and we picked him because he was the most friendly, calm and best behaved dog in the shelter when we were there. And I’ve also heard enough stories about Pits who aren’t trained to be mean or abused, being sweet and loving, to think that could be true about Bo’s nature. He does like to play rough, but only as rough as someone plays with him – like I often do. But he’s very gentle and patient with children.

Leave a Reply

