A Blessing And A Curse

It was clear and unusually warm the other night, with the temperature around 70 degrees well after dark, and it seemed more like a summer evening than a night in late March.

I stepped outside on my deck and I embraced the warmth of the evening, seeming like a perfect mid summer’s night, as if the Goddess of the Night herself, granted all her nocturnal worshipers a special gift on this night, so dark, yet unnaturally bright, and bathed in the shadowy silver light of a full moon.

I’m very nocturnal. All my life I’ve been fascinated and enthralled by the night. While I’ll always love a day filled with bright sunshine, blue sky, the multi-colors of many flowers and the fresh green foliage of trees, I still really come alive at night. Some of the most vivid memories of my life are of the night… Like the night I was on the summit of Mount Washington, under a clear night sky populated with billions of blinking stars, and a full moon so bright that I could wander around the summit peak without a flashlight, seeing everything illuminated in silvery moonlight, and amuse myself by playing shadow tricks on the rocks.

Looking up on this warm summer night in late March, I saw a perfectly round full moon above me in the night sky, shining down with a clarity that was astounding. It was as if suddenly my vision had become slightly telescopic. The features and patterns on the face of the bright night orb were rendered so starkly clear, that it was almost shocking to behold. But with an air of great beauty that was awe inspiring and filled me with wonder at it’s sight, and a sense of privilege to witness it.

Yes, I love being nocturnal, and I am in love with the Goddess of the Night.

 

Oh Goddess of the Night, I love you beyond all reason. The soft caress of cool night air soothes and excites my skin as you lay next to me, your breath upon my chest. You are my dark enchantress, and I am spellbound by all your nocturnal charms. I will always wait for you as the sun slowly sinks and disappears. This is now your time. Our time…

I can never leave you, even though the demands of the day make me weak and tired after the bliss we know together. But you are ever so worth it, and I will always wait for you… wait until the sweet soothing darkness of your presence covers all the glare that hurts my eyes, as you come to me once again. I will never leave you, my precious Goddess of the Night. For better or worse, I am yours forever…

But while the Goddess of the Night has richly blessed me, she has also cursed me as well, for often the price of her companionship is relentless and debilitating insomnia. She can be a jealous Goddess, and there are many nights when she won’t allow me to sleep during those hours of darkness that I belong exclusively to her.

Then she leaves me with tired and exhausted eyes as I watch the sun rise above another day, and I have no energy to face it, for once again she has drained me dry, and left me with little strength to try and function in a world full of daily responsibilities upon which my life and livelihood depends.

But after many long and struggling hours, my desperately sleep deprived day ends, and in the blurred haze of my insomnia weary daze, I watch the sun slowly sink beneath the horizon again.

 

The sun is soon replaced by a huge deep yellow-white full moon hanging just above the tree tops, bathing the night in a silvery glow. Casting dark sharp shadows, and bringing on a second wind of exhilaration, as I gratefully greet the sweet return of the night.

I feel energized and revitalized, as now the light of dawn seems far away, and now also distant, the prospect of facing another exhausted day… I know that soon my sweet lover shall remove all care from my weary soul. For her goal is to make me hers and hers alone forever… and maybe I’ll never need to ever sleep or awaken again. It will no longer matter then, when all struggle between night and day shall cease, and then instead of rest, she finally grants me eternal peace.

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Blessing And A Curse

  1. greatmartin says:

    From the God of Night!!!

  2. I love the night! Especially when everyone else goes to sleep.

  3. benzeknees says:

    Another thing we have in common Chris, both night owls with insommnia issues. I was very pleasantly surprised by the poeticism of your writing on this post. Usually you are more funny than poetic. Beautifully written!

Leave a Reply

