Meet The Wife And Kids – Again!

Note: This was originally posted back on 12/4/11, when I’d been on WordPress for all of four days,  and I was all but invisible here. As of today, I now have 100 followers, and I just felt like catching folks up on this one, because since it’s mainly about my wife, it’s one of my personal favorites.

Greetings Fellow Bloggers!

I had a tough time waking up this morning, and I didn’t really feel fully alert until almost noon. No, no wild saturday night for me last night… Most of my wild nights are behind me now, though I had one hell of a run when I was younger.

Like this night for example:

I took this picture back in 1984, in Cape Hatteras, NC. Six buddies and I spent 10 days there in July.

This is the sort of thing that went on every night. I can’t believe we drank that much, but we did. This guy had passed out and he was so gone that almost nothing would get him to move. I balanced the full unopened can of beer on his shoulder as proof of how out of it he was.

Not a bad shot, considering that I was very very drunk myself when I took it. It’s even in focus! Which is more than you could’ve said for me…

This is what I looked like, back then. I don’t look nearly as good now at age 55 as I did when I was 27, but few of us do. At this point in my life, I almost never get drunk anymore. I still have a few drinks from time to time, but seldom more than just a few. Now that I’m older, my health seems like a natural resource that needs to be carefully conserved, instead of needlessly wasted. And if I take better care of myself, my mind is much sharper and I can think more clearly and quickly, instead of wandering around feeling hung over and lost in a fog.

But I still have lots of fun, without getting blind drunk. I have a sense of humor, and I have a much better sense of humor when I’m feeling well rested and healthy. My only vice now is that I still drink lots of coffee, and if I get too caffeinated, I have trouble sleeping. People tell me to drink decaf, but the main reason I drink coffee is that I enjoy a good caffeine buzz, and drinking decaf makes about as much sense to me as drinking non alcoholic whiskey. I mean, what’s the point?

As long as I can keep my coffee drinking somewhat moderate, I don’t get insomnia and life is good.

Maybe this little guy’s had a little too much of a good thing!

My wife and I have had a very nice and relaxing sunday together today. She is a life long devotee to the daily practice of yoga, and it’s done wonders for keeping her healthy and in very good shape. Sometimes I like to watch her do yoga, because she is very graceful as she moves her body into the different positions and poses of her yoga routine. For a woman who is now 51 years old, she’s got very good flexibility and muscle tone, and it shows.

This is an old picture of her from 1989, when she was 29, but she’s still got great legs today at over 50 years old. All that yoga, and also good genes have kept her looking young. Her older brother and sister don’t look their ages either.

Yes, it’s shocking but true! She was having a fling with Bart Simpson back then, but I convinced her that she could do far better in love, than consorting with such low life, two dimensional cartoon character!

http://walkoffwin55.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/wp-jean2.jpg?w=419&h=560

Jean has always been able to rock a bikini, and she still can, right to this very day.

She’s my Hiker Babe…

And my very best dive buddy…

And she was even daring enough to marry me, and become my Life Buddy… Although here she looks like she’s starting to think about it, and she’s looking kinda spooked. Lol ;-)

This is Jean last year, on her 50th birthday. This is a very good photo of her, and she doesn’t look quite so young in real life, but she still looks at least ten years younger than her true age. She has a very playful, youthful spirit, and that also helps to keep her looking young.

This is Jean in 2005, when we were on vacation in Mexico on the Yucatan peninsula. I guess you could say that I’m proud she is my wife.

One of my favorite pictures of Jean and I together in 2003. We both look very happy because it’s our Anniversary.

And now, for something completely different:

This Jean and I, just last month. Yes, we BOTH have a sense of humor, and we’re not afraid to look ridiculous using it! Which is one of the many reasons why we are well suited for one another, and why we have stayed married for over 21 years. Our children are grown and on their own now, (Thank God!!!) so now we have only our own inner children to take care of. So meet the wife and (inner) kids! :-)

This is how I try to stay in shape. I really enjoy bike riding, and I go for 20 mile rides three times a week, in good weather. I tend to gain weight easily, which may have something to do with my enjoyment of eating too much, so bike riding helps me to keep the weight off, and counteracts my excess consumption.

My wife has been trying to talk me into doing yoga with her for years, but I haven’t had much enthusiasm for it. But after watching the sensual grace of her smooth and fluid movements while she did her yoga today, and seeing how tightly well toned her body is, I may reconsider. I could use some tightening and toning myself, these days…

Speaking of yoga, I want to post a video here that I think really demonstrates the true beauty and sensual grace of yoga, when practiced by a woman who is highly skilled in the discipline; enough to take it to the level of Art.

Happy Friday my WP friends! And I’m wishing you all a fun and relaxing weekend.

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Humor, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Meet The Wife And Kids – Again!

  1. You two look as if you are so content with each other. It’s a rarity. Life is still grand even for those of us over 50.

    • We are most of the time, but of course like any couple we also have our issues too. But all in all, our marriage has been very good for us, and we’ve been good to each other.

      While I’m not wild about advancing further into the “process” of physical aging, still in some ways my life now that I’m over 50, is a lot better than my younger years. So yeah, life is still grand, and I’m hoping to keep playing that gig for as long as I possibly can.

      Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for commenting!

  2. RFL says:

    Glad you re-posted this! Nice to get to know more about you both.
    congratulations on 100 followers, and I’m with you on decaf and non-alcoholic whisky. The only thing worse is diet, caffiene free soda aka useless cold or warm brown water.

    • Thanks! :-) And thanks for stopping by and reading.

      Yes, there are certain drinks that we drink for more of a purpose, and if the active ingredient isn’t there, well I’d rather have a cup of soup.

  3. I’m glad you reposted, too. Although we’ve gotten to know each other fairly well for blogging friends, this post really helped add a more “human” quality rather than “internet,” if you know what I mean.

    And damn… that pic of your wife in the bikini? Shit! Very nice body.

    • I know just what you mean, Michelle. That’s how I felt when you did your “Find the Lie in the List of Truths about Me” post, and then after revealing the answer, you wrote more about the things that were true. That added a more “human” quality for me with you.

      My wife in the bikini – Thanks, and of course I absolutely agree with you, and I never cease to be amazed! She was around 35 when that photo was taken, but she still looks very good in a bikini now at age 51. Like I mentioned in the post, I think that it’s partially due to age defying genetics, but I know that her life long practice of yoga is the biggest reason why she looks as good as she does now. I’ll be sure to pass along your compliment, since I know she’ll be flattered, so thanks again.

  4. Make it 101 followers! Love this post. You and your wife’s love for each other, how you both grew throughout the years is inspiring. It’s amazing how times have changed including the way we look but pretty much the heart remains the same. Beautiful post my friend. Thank you…

    • Thanks very much my friend! :-) I also really enjoyed your post “The Real World Outside The Bus” because it was about life in both good ways and bad, and the wisdom of teaching your child about the world around him, in a way that he could understand. Your photography really helped to tell your story to your readers as well.

      Thanks again for reading and commenting, and for also following my blog. I’ll be back to read more of your blog soon as well.

  5. Elyse says:

    Glad you re-posted this — I missed it the first time around.

  6. GOF says:

    Thanks for sharing your story Chris….it’s really helpful (and a privilege) to be given an insight into the past lives of bloggers, but few, often for very good reasons, ever do it.
    Best wishes to both of you for the future together.

    • Well it’s true that many bloggers on WordPress do have criminal records, and some are also fugitives from justice, so revealing their pasts could be a very hazardous endeavor. But I’m just your garden variety shameless type, so I let it all hang out. (actually haven’t gone that far yet, and will do my best not to!) Lol ;-)

      Thanks for appreciating my story, my friend. And best wishes to you and yours as well.

Leave a Reply

