I Was a Child Groom

Yes, it’s true… When I got married the first time, I was very young. In fact, I was so young, that you could say that I was a child groom.

And just how young was I, when I first got married? I was three. Yep, I was only three years old when I first tied the knot. But my bride couldn’t exactly be accused of being a cradle robber, because on our wedding day, she was only five. So yes, while it’s true that she was older than me, no one could call her an older woman… Lol :-)

Here’s a couple photos taken on our wedding day:

 

Yes, that is really me in 1959, when I was all of three years old. Getting married was her idea, and I guess it didn’t bother her that she was a head taller than me, and that she also had much better fashion sense than I did, when picking out a pair of shorts.

I look like I hadn’t quite figured out how to even wear a pair of shorts. I didn’t know how to tie my sneakers either, but she did, so she could help me with that.

But I still looked sharp in my wedding day Top Hat, that day when I became a child groom. And what did our parents think of us getting married so young? They loved the idea! Which is why they saved us the expense of hiring a professional photographer for our wedding, since they were only too happy to take these pictures. :-)

My new wife loved getting married so much, that every time my parents visited with her folks, and brought me along, she wanted to get married all over again! Which was fine with me, cause being only three, I don’t think I really understood what was going on. So I just went along with it since she seemed like a nice girl, and she seemed to really like me.

She liked me enough to keep wanting to marry me every time she got the chance.  I’m just guessing here, but I think we got married at least ten times, and for her the experience never got old.

Just as in these pictures here, neither did we. :-)

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Humor, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to I Was a Child Groom

  1. Roly says:

    Amazing what the girls can coerce us into doing.

    • Yes, it really is! And especially so, when a girl can get you to marry her at least ten times! Now that is some very powerful, but in this case, still benign coercion! :-)

  2. RFL says:

    These pictures are fantastic!

  3. benzeknees says:

    I remember the days when us girls would put a crinoline on our heads & throw it back over our shoulders so it looked like a veil. I can see your “wife” knew the same trick. Things were so much simpler then. (sigh)

    • So I guess that you were a child bride then too! :-) And all it took was a crinoline to look like a veil to be ready for your wedding. When I think of that compared to what is involved with planning and preparing for a real wedding, well yes, I have to take a deep breath and sigh, and then sincerely agree with you, that yes, things really were so much simpler then. And not just for child grooms and brides, but in many ways, for their parents as well…

  4. You look so cute with your knobby little knees and top hat!

    • Why, yes I do believe that I do! :-) Who would have ever guessed that I would become such a big and burningly handsome hunk of a man? (please feel free to snicker, and with my blessing. lol)

      • (snicker) Just kidding! I only snickered because you suggested it.

        • You are absolutely right, because I did suggest it. And I think that is what’s called preemptive self deprecation for the sake of humor, which can be a very useful tool. Unless the person who attempts to use it, is a tool, and goes around telling people in Michigan that he likes it there, because “the trees are the right height.” Which is more an example of verbal self defecation, and not useful at all.

  5. GOF says:

    Wonderful memories for you……..has this been an enduring friendship?
    You certainly were an early starter…..I was almost 5 when I fell in love with the 11 year-old girl who was assigned to take care of me during my first days at school.
    Heartwarming story. Thanks.

    • Well, even though I was two years ahead of you, I’d still say that at not quite 5, you had a very early start of your own, and you set your sights even higher than I did! :-)

      Actually, it was an enduring friendship… and for many years after we got repeatedly “married”. But around five years later, my Dad took a job that took us far away from that part of the country, and my “wife” and I were unwillingly separated. But she frequently wrote me letters, until she was in her teens and took a more adolescent interest in the local boys in her school, as would be expected. But our families remained friends and there were still family visits back and forth for quite some time, so we still had a chance to get together and have lots of fun and laughter about our early history together.

      Thanks for reading, and thanks for your appreciation.

  6. That’s so sweet! My daughter wanted to marry me for a couple of years…the romance has WELL worn off now though!

    • Thanks! :-) And that’s cute about your daughter. But now let me guess here… Is your daughter somewhere between the ages of 13 to 16 yrs old? Because 13 is not just an unlucky number, but also around the age when the mother- daughter honeymoon is over.

      I know, because although not a mother, there was a time that I was the father of a 13 yr old daughter, and the man who was married to the mother she drove crazy… If it makes you feel any better, my 13 yr old daughter drove me crazy too, and not only just her mother. But as we both got older, things did eventually get better, so hang in there, Mom!

  7. Elliot says:

    Your face hasn’t changed much. Was there some wedding photos with someones thumb over half of it (covering the lens)?

    • None that I know of, Elliot… I’m quite sure that none exist after spending two days searching for them, and not finding any, or at least none that I’ll ever be posting… Lol ;-)

  8. benzeknees says:

    You have been nominated for the Reader Appreciation Award. http://benzeknees.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/intermission/

  9. I remember getting married at the age of three as well to a guy in preschool. I remember we got married under a table. It didn’t last though, an older woman of four caught his eye with the promise of a shared biscuit. Loving your humour

    • Just goes to show that you just can’t trust those four year old women, when it comes to matters of the heart and fair play, and I can only hope that by now you’ve gotten over it…

      Thanks for reading, thanks for enjoying, and thanks even more, for following! :-) Do you happen to be Australian? I seem to have an affinity for Southern Hemisphere women, in a playful way without serious intent, and this affinity is more often than not, quite mutual. Lol ;-)

      • What tipped you off? Must have been my upside down comment :). Happy to join your Southern Hemisphere posse of followers. Me thinks we are off to a great start on the affinity thing.

        • Lol @ upside down comment! :-) No, it wasn’t that… but more to do with your sense of “humour”. And not just because the “u” was in there, either, cause that could mean that you could be from just about anywhere the Brits lived and colonized… (except for America, where we take pride in not knowing how to spell) What it was, was you referring to “an older woman of four…” While I couldn’t know for sure, that did seem like an Aussie way of wording it.

          And of course, now having read my most recent post, you know that I’ve had a lot of experience reading Australian phraseology. Lol ;-)

  10. Pingback: Feeling Left Behind and Out in the Cold? This One’s for You. | Word Play

Leave a Reply

