A MUCH Better Day!

Just a very brief post to thanks those who responded with compassion and understanding to yesterday’s post, and I sincerely appreciate all of your comments.

Even better, I actually have some good news! After Jean’s former employers saw the outpouring of support for Jean via e-mail from Jean’s clients the day they laid her off – Yesterday, they contacted Jean to tell her she would receive two full months of severance pay.

Jean’s ex-employers made no such offer the day they told her she no longer had a job, and although they will never admit it, I know that it was when they saw all those comments from clients supporting Jean, that suddenly Jean’s ex-employers were belatedly struck by a wave of their own “compassion”.  Or maybe a need to not look quite so ruthless to their own customer base…

I guess this shows that maybe we should never underestimate our own power to make a difference, by speaking up and saying what we feel, even if just to offer some words of kindness to someone else who is suffering. While I know that often it seems like our words have no real power to change things for the better, sometimes they have a far greater positive effect than we ever realized…

Jean still needs to find work, but I am working and my job pays well; maybe not enough to live life in the way we have been enjoying, but we’ll be okay for now. But of far greater importance, is that today my wife is actually happy again – she’s even laughing and smiling! :-)

The unexpected two months of severance pay definitely is a factor, but I am going to take credit where credit is due, and say that I have done everything I possibly can in the last two days to show her how much I truly DO love her, and I’ve kept my own mood as upbeat as possible, and this has helped to lift up Jean’s mood as well.

And after 25 years of experience, I DO know how to make my wife laugh… even under circumstances like these.

Also, it was 25 years ago as of yesterday, on August 2nd 1987, that Jean and I met for the very first time, on a scuba dive in New England waters. Jean almost drowned that day, and she would have for certain – except that I was able to save her life.

Last night I told Jean that “I saved your life 25 years ago on August 2nd 1987, and I’ll do anything I can to save you again on August 2nd, 2012, and every day after this one.”

Her eyes probed deeply into mine, just before we kissed, and as she replied, her voice was filled with emotion. “I believe you, Chris… I really do believe you.”

Tomorrow we are leaving for a two week vacation in Acadia National Park in Maine. It’s one of our all time favorite places, we’ve been going there for years, and we have always loved it, every time. I’m sure that this time will be the same, or maybe even better…

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A MUCH Better Day!

  1. Elyse says:

    Great news!!!!

    And have a wonderful time in Acadia. How could you not?

    • Thanks so much, Elyse. I know that you know what a beautiful and special place Acadia really is, and that you were just there recently on your vacation. How could we not have a wonderful time? I dunno… Massive earth quake maybe… Huge tornado… Invasion by hostile aliens from another galaxy… Getting stuck in accommodations next to a rabid party of Tea Partiers? OK – That’s enough of THAT!!! I should know better than to EVER tempt Fate in any way, and that LAST possibility is WAY too close to being possible!

      Hey FATE!!! I was just kidding! No – Really!!! LOL :-)

  2. speaker7 says:

    I’m glad your wife received some good news on an otherwise terrible day.

    • Thanks S-7. Me too!!! :-) It’s not like all our problems are solved… No, far from it. But at least for today, both of our states of mind and our moods are doing a lot better.

  3. alundeberg says:

    That’s wonderful news! Have a great time on your trip! Maine is so pretty and rugged.

  4. That’s wonderful news! I am so glad she rec’d the severance pay. That helps a lot.

    So, Acadia? I have always wanted to go there. I’ve never been in the upper northeast and would so love to go during the fall season. See the trees, the chill in the night air, the smell of the woods….

  5. RFL says:

    Glad to hear they gave her some severance pay–that helps ease some of the terror of the situation, and I’m sure your smiling, happy face and support have as well. Enjoy your vacation!

  6. That’s awful, I’m so sorry Jean lost her job! Stinky employers. It’s good news about the severance pay though. I’m sure she’ll find another, even better one – it may happen straight away or take some time, but it’ll happen. I’m glad that she’s laughing again, too. xoxo

Leave a Reply

