A Darker Side of Halloween

So it’s Halloween tonight… Halloween brings back so many memories for me, but one memory in particular stands out. It was on a Halloween night 15 years ago, and it was not only Halloween, but also the night of a full moon. It was clear and unusually warm that night, with the temperature around 70 degrees well after dark, and it seemed more like a summer evening than a night in mid to late autumn.
.
I remember stepping outside on my deck and how I embraced the warmth of the evening, seeming like a perfect mid summer’s night, as if the Goddess of the Night herself, granted all her nocturnal worshipers a special gift on this Halloween night, so dark yet unnaturally bright, and bathed in shadowy silver light.
.
I’m very nocturnal. All my life I’ve been fascinated and enthralled by the night. While I’ll always love a day filled with bright sunshine, blue sky, the multi-colors of many flowers and the fresh green foliage of trees, I still really come alive at night. Some of the most vivid memories of my life are of the night – Like the night I was on the summit of Mount Washington, under a clear night sky populated with billions of blinking stars, and a full moon so bright that I could wander around the summit peak without a flashlight, seeing everything bathed in silver moonlight, and amuse myself by playing shadow tricks on the rocks. Yes, I love being nocturnal, and I am in love with the Goddess of the Night. In fact, I even wrote a devotion of my love for her.
.
.
Oh Goddess of the Night, I love you beyond all reason. The soft caress of cool night air soothes and excites my skin as you lay next to me, your breath upon my chest. You are my dark enchantress, and I am spellbound by all your nocturnal charms. I will always wait for you as the sun slowly sinks and disappears. This is now your time. Our time…
.
I can never leave you, even though the demands of the day make me weak and tired after the bliss we know together. But you are ever so worth it, and I will always wait for you… wait until the sweet soothing darkness of your presence covers all the glare that hurts my eyes, as you come to me once again. I will never leave you, my precious Goddess of the Night. For better or worse, I am yours forever…

Looking up on that Halloween night of 15 years ago, I saw a perfectly round full moon above me in the night sky, shining down with a clarity that was astounding. It was as if suddenly my vision had become slightly telescopic. The features and patterns on the face of the bright night orb were rendered so starkly clear, that it was almost shocking to behold. But with an air of great beauty that was awe inspiring and filled me with wonder at it’s sight, and a sense of privilege to witness it.

http://universe-beauty.com/albums/userpics/2011y/05/09/1/18/normal_moon-28.jpg
.
But then I heard the screeching and screaming of rubber tires dragging and burning on the road with locked wheels that couldn’t stop, as they skidded at high speed straight at an inevitable and terrible fate, and then were abruptly stopped by the awful sound of a loud and violent crash!
.
A car had hit a telephone pole with great force. It crashed in front of a bar across the street, where a Halloween costume party was in progress. As the police, the fire dept and then the ambulance arrived, a large crowd gathered around the scene of the accident. They were dressed up in Halloween costumes of all kinds. Some were humorously funny, some playfully naughty and sexy, and many others looked like the cast of a horror movie.
.
http://api.ning.com/files/MggK*YlR-OjE8mRskcl9wd5C71PYkRci6udVYRLh*Hvp5k4ZIaYVDyoRQZxBeOkSJKjpAnbmfsshJAkeYM-Isw__/myersmask.jpg
.
But even the most frightening and horrible looking masks and gory makeup were still only make believe, and couldn’t match the true horror of the the large and growing dark pool of blood forming on the pavement, next to the crushed and twisted metal of the wrecked car. The very life essence of another human being, gushing from torn open arteries and flowing from veins ripped apart, was spilling out into the street.
.
.
And I heard from within the crowd of Halloween revelers who were now the onlookers of a truly gruesome scene… I heard the sound of laughter. Maniacal and deranged, drunken and drug crazed laughter! It seemed so much worse than inappropriate; the laughter that I heard was heartless, cold and obscene.
.
.
As the paramedics struggled to rescue a life fast ebbing away and very soon to be lost, I left the street and returned to my apartment with the sound of laughter at a tragedy still echoing in my ears. Suddenly, the night no longer seemed so benign and beautiful, but more like the dark blackness of true evil.
.
A bad moon ruled this night, and raving lunatics were cast under its spell. Nothing like a full moon to bring out the beast in even the best of us – but most of all from deep within the worst. Scientists keep trying to tell us that the full moon has no effect on people. But I say go ask the people who work in emergency rooms, police departments and psychiatric wards. Go ask them if a full moon has no effect on their jobs. I know you’ll hear a different story than what the scientists would have us believe.
.
While it’s true that you can witness the bizarre behavior of crazy people every single day, I know from experience that your odds go way up on a full moon night. Just drive around the city during a full moon phase, and you’ll see many bad drivers become much worse, some making obscene gestures, after they are the ones to almost cause an accident. They drive like foolish idiots and dangerous maniacs, and in their state of road rage, they curse other drivers just because they are there.
.
http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ld574s0elF1qbrk7u.jpg
.
So be careful when you walk outside at night, and there’s a huge deep yellow-white full moon hanging just above the tree tops, bathing the night in a strange silvery glow. Casting dark sharp shadows… and illuminating the darkest thoughts of mortal men. Exposing and awakening that which should never be brought to light. Shining bright on the darkest of desires, and encouraging depraved urges into the commission of horrible and hideous acts.
.
.
.
Have a care, those of you who venture out on such a night. Because you just might encounter those for whom the worst of evil is their delight. Get too close and you could become the center of their twisted universe. You could even be a blood sacrifice to their full moon curse. Beware of dark places, and strange menacing faces… The devil himself is out dancing tonight! Dancing wildly in the full moon light. And all his disciples are caught up in his delight! And looking for strange and horrible ways to honor him.
.
.
Sweet Dreams, ye who are unaware – of most evil and awful night terrors crouching there. There at the foot of your very bed… the very essence of all mankind’s deepest dread. Vile, evil unmentionable entities who engage in the worst obscenities of violent outrage against all that is good.
.
photo
.
And they harvest helpless souls as the final goal for The Skull inside the Hood!
.
.
Beware ye unbelievers! You are just cannon fodder for the ultimate of deceivers. He waits for you tonight! His hideous face grins in the full moon light. As the worst of his intentions are acted out in the dimensions of the very worst of the eternally damned and cursed! They have an unquenchable thirst for your ultimate terror! Just ask yourself how you’d feel… if every nightmare you’ve ever known, suddenly became real! And you were the focal point of The Feast, for those who would devour you alive, in devoted worship of their Beast!
.
.
So on such a night, do not mock the full moon light! But rather stay inside and pray you’re out of sight! And if the full moon finds your face, for God’s sake – hide in a more hidden place! From those who’s hunger is to find you…
.
.

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Darker Side of Halloween

  1. In my years as a high school teacher, I dreaded school dances on full moon nights. They were always crazy. I liked reading your post, Chris, but I was completely creeped out by those images. I’m glad I read this after being out in the dark while the kids trick-or-treated and not before!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, DD. It’s not surprising to me that as a high school teacher, you dreaded those crazed school dances on full moon nights. I have no doubt in my mind that many people go crazy in a bad way during a full moon phase, since like you, I’ve witnessed it myself, and heard many other people talk about their own experiences with full moon nights.

      Sorry the images creeped you out, but after describing the nocturnal beauty and wonder of the night, I was trying to create an atmosphere of increasing fear and dread, when after the fatal car crash, the full moon was no longer beautiful, but an evil influence on human nature. The rest of the post became a fictional horror story about human nature no longer human, but the incarnation of ultimate evil, as it celebrates the terrifying horror of death.

      • And I think it was an effective approach – and a very effective piece of writing. (I’m the girl who can’t even watch trailers for horror movies!)

        • Thanks, and I understand that it’s no fun to be scared unless you are enjoying it. When I was in my mid teens I used to love getting scared by horror movies. But as I got older and the slasher movies got more formulaic and mindless, the thrill was gone and replaced with boredom, so I stopped watching them. But to this day, I still crave a movie that can actually scare me, with an intelligent plot and a more subtle approach that slowly builds up the levels of suspense and dread, leading to a shocking and unexpectedly terrifying climax. But those kind of movies are very rare and seldom found, and I’ve already seen almost all of them that I’m aware of.

  2. Mark Davis says:

    Very well written and scary – well done!

  3. Chris, you’re scaring me! and you’re right, the celebration of ‘evil’ has its dark side.

    • Sorry to scare you 10 days after Halloween is past, but thanks for reading. I’ll be returning the favor soon, and checking out what you’ve been up to as well. Time to spend on WP has been very hard for me to come by lately, but I’ll find a way. :-)

Leave a Reply

