The Ultimate Fright

It was a leisurely Saturday morning on November 7th, 1987. After finishing breakfast, I was enjoying my second cup of coffee and enjoying the company of my girlfriend, a young and beautifully vivacious woman named Jean. In the four months since we first met, Jean and I had fallen deeply in love with each other. One of the many reasons why, was that our senses of humor were a perfect match for each other, and we loved to make each other laugh.

Look What I Caught Mom!

Look what I caught, Mom! Can I keep her?

We sat at the kitchen table, exchanging spontaneous quips and one liners, and we laughed happily together. The sound of Jean’s laughter was musical and magical for me, and her laughter filled my heart with joy.

Jean got up from the table to get her second cup of coffee, while I admired the pleasing sight of her shape from behind. Then in one horrible instant, Jean suddenly collapsed, falling down on the kitchen floor unconscious. I jumped up from the table and in less than a second I was kneeling down at her side, and feeling her neck for a pulse that I couldn’t find. I called out her name increasingly louder, but she didn’t respond.

Worst of all, Jean’s eyes were open but her eyes had no light in them, and she looked like she was gone. I grabbed her by the shoulders and yelled in her face at the top of my lungs, YOU COME BACK TO ME JEAN!!! YOU COME BACK RIGHT NOW!!!

I was one blink of an eye away from starting CPR on Jean, when suddenly she did come back to me! It turns out that Jean had only fainted. I rushed her to the hospital anyway, but a thorough medical examination found nothing wrong with her, and nothing like that has ever happened to her again, in 25 years.

This post was inspired by another post from Susie Lindau: Get Your Red On and Get Recognized On the Wild Ride

Please read it, and then do what your heart tells you to do…

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Ultimate Fright

  1. susielindau says:

    Such a frightening story Chris! I am glad that she is alright.
    Thanks for the shout!

    • Yeah… it was. Scared me far worse than any time that my own life was in danger. I’m glad that she is alright too. :-) I’m also glad that you are alright, after reading about what happened to you…

      Thank YOU for promoting such a worthy cause!

  2. Elyse says:

    What a scary story, Chris. Thanks for referencing Suzi’s post — one of my sisters died from heart disease (well, actually from smoking) and one of my brothers had a massive heart attack at 39 and a quadruple bi-pass. (They were both smokers — I am smarter than both of them. AND I go to the doctor). But tomorrow I will wear red.

  3. benzeknees says:

    That must have been very scary for you! I’m glad it didn’t happen again!

  4. that would have been a shock! I fainted a couple of times, getting out of bed. In those days I didn’t do that (getting out of bed) as much as I probably should have, so it was a shock to the system. I’m glad Jean’s never given you such a fright since.

  5. Teeny Bikini says:

    That is certainly frightening. I am so happy that she is well now…. I am off to read the other link in this blog. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

