You Say You Want A Resolution

You say you want some resolutions
Well, you know
We all want a better year than last
You say you want some new solutions
Well, you know
We all want a better future than our past

But when you want to make some lasting change
Your motivation has got to be long range
Cause you know it isn’t gonna be… All right
If it’s only a few days and nights – Not right

You say you’ve got some real solutions
Well, you know
We’d all love to see your new life plan
You ask me for some contributions
Well, you know
I’ll try telling you what I can

But if you think your life will change
because of the New Year’s date
Your new life is just gonna have to wait
And you’ll wait indefinitely!
Cause it’s never gonna be… All right
If your expectations are out of sight

You’re not gonna change overnight.

Uh uhh! Uh uhh! Uh uhh! Uh uhh!

You say you’ll change your constitution
Well, you know
you could have changed it last year instead.
You’re lost in mental convolutions
And you know
last year’s resolutions are all dead
So if you go writing new lists of things to do
You’d better be ready to see them through.

Don’t you know it’s gonna be – Not right
Playing the same foolish game as before – Not right
Putting  faith in a mythical day once more – Not right
Gotta be every day and night, if it’s gonna be – All right

All Right? All Right?? All Right??? ALL RIGHT!!!

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You Say You Want A Resolution

  1. New Years Resolutions. Ugh. I learned many years ago, why set myself up for failure, right? But this year, I do want to do my Photo 365, where every day I take a photo of some sort. Some people have themes, which I tried last year. Thought it’d be cool to take a face shot of myself on a daily basis, then at the years’ end, load them all in a video editor, and watch my face and hair slightly morph through the year. Well, that lasted until about day 3 when I came down with the flu. I mean, cannot-get-out-of-the-bed sick. Therefore, no pix taken. So, this year, I’m not doing a theme… just whatever looks like a cool pic will work. And I’m sure that most will be of the dogs… :)

    • Happy Day After The Holidays!!! :-) New Years Resolutions are a paradox for me. As opposed to a pair-a-ducks which is an entirely different matter. (Wow that was bad! sometimes I even shock myself, and not in a good way!) But seriously – On one hand, intellectually I know that it makes no sense to think that just because the the calendar suddenly says 2012 instead 2011, that I will suddenly engage in an orgy of successful self improvement. But on the other hand, however illogical, it’s worked for me in the past, with varying degrees of success.

      So yes, I do have a few New Years resolutions, because sometimes when something works for you, why ask why? Coincidentally, one of my 2012 resolutions is to get more involved in photography again. (I’m a good but lazy amateur) So I like your Photo 365 idea (or 366) and I may join you. So good luck to us with that! :-) BTW, I’m glad I met you – you’re a very cool and impressive lady, and don’t worry, cause I don’t expect you to call me a very cool and impressive lady too! ;-)

  2. Well, technically, I suppose this year will be a Photo 366 seeing as it’s a leap year….

  3. benzeknees says:

    Never have made a resolution yet – this year I was forced to put into practise a loosely based, transient thought which puttered through my mind from time to time (especially when I was standing on the balcony in the middle of a snow storm) to quit smoking.
    My wonderful husband (who still remains the Grinch) came down with a bad cold/flu on Christmas Eve whereupon he proceeded to snort, moan, hack & sleep his way thru the next 3 days. By Boxing Day (day after Christmas for those of you who don’t celebrate), I was sick too. My cold/flu promptly turned into pneumonia which meant I couldn’t breathe well enough to walk across the room, much less smoke a cigarette. Eight days later I am back at work (my entire Christmas vacation I worked extra hours to get spent sick) & still haven’t had a cigarette. Still can’t breathe all that well either, but still smokeless.
    Now, I’m not saying I’ve got this thing licked – I’m definitely taking it one day at a time, but this is the longest I’ve gone without a cigarette in over 30 years. So even though I didn’t set out to make a resolution to quit smoking, I have managed to make a stab at it & I’m proud of myself for doing it (even if I do say so myself)!

    • Really sorry that you and your husband got so sick for Christmas, and you spent your vacation sick with pneumonia – that’s the pits, and I hope you get completely well soon. But if you hang in there and are able to quit smoking, it will have been worth it. And you should be proud of yourself! So way to go, hang in there and I’m wishing you the best of success in kicking the habit!

  4. You’re welcome, and I’ll do my best. Comedy is a dirty and dangerous job, but somebody’s gotta do it! ;-)

Leave a Reply

