Awarded! Who, Me?

A strange thing happened this week. And then a similarly strange thing happened again this week, just this morning. I got awarded. Awarded twice in one week, and I can only shake my head and wonder why?

But being awarded twice in one week is much better than the last thing that happened to me twice in one week, causing me to shake my head and wonder why… when my car got rear ended at a stop light twice in one week. Being awarded is much better.

But I do have to admit that I’m surprised, and it’s nice to be pleasantly surprised for a change. I’ve been blogging on WordPress for a month and a week now, which isn’t very long, and I’ve learned that there are many very skilled and talented writers here, who make me look like the novice WP blogger that I am. For the last five weeks, I’ve often felt like one very small drop in a very large ocean of talent, and while my stats are relatively modest, I’m grateful to have been noticed as much as I have here on WP.

And I’m very grateful to the two people who enjoyed my stuff here enough to share their awards with me.

Michelle of Motley News was kind and generous enough to share with me The Candle Lighter Award.

The Candle Lighter Award is given to recognize “anyone who lights the world with their work”. The only way I know of that I even remotely qualify for this description is that I love to make people laugh, and with a few rare exceptions, trying to make people laugh is what my blog is all about. I really do believe in the power of humor, and I think that laughter is one of the best stress relievers available without a prescription.

But Michelle of Motley News (who is definitely worth plugging at least twice) not only has a great sense of humor, but she’s also highly intelligent, very talented, and the hardest working blogger I know. Her blog has an amazing variety of news, videos, photography, information about politics, social and environmental causes, entertainment, and also for dog lovers, the delightfully fun and funny Motley Dogs

I was impressed with Michelle when I visited her blog for the first time and I read her About section on Motley News and as I remember what she has written there, I know that she does represent what The Candle Lighter Award is all about, because I think she is someone who lights the world with her work.

So thank you Michelle, for passing along your award to this attempted humorist. I genuinely appreciate it.

The Candle Lighter Award does not require you to pass it to anyone, and you are not required to give a list of info about yourself. But I think that I’m going to follow Michelle’s lead, and nominate six blogs here that have at the very least, made my world a lighter and more lighthearted place, and I know that they have done the same for others.

These are in no particular order of status and they are all well worth checking out.

Facehookin’

Societal Confusion

Your Pal Jason

Becoming Cliche

lifeinthefarcelane

Yet Even More Stoned thoughts and Random Rambles (My Name is Fritz)…

The last one above with the long name is a title for a blog post. I have a reason for doing this, and it’s that to really appreciate this guy, you’ve got to read this post first. It’s only fair to say that he’s not for everyone, (neither am I) and if your sense of humor lives in Disney Land, or you’re easily offended, then don’t bother reading this post. Otherwise, enjoy!

Wow! Since I’ve been rambling on as much as I have here, I think it will be best if I stop here with this post, and I’ll write about the second award nomination I got this week in my next post. And because of the requirements of the second award, I will be nominating another group of bloggers for the award, so stay tuned.

Thanks so much to all my readers, whether you’ve been here only once or a lot more than that. I’m very grateful to each and every one of you.

More about The Candle Lighter Award: http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/creation-of-new-blog-award-the-candle-lighter-award/.

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Awarded! Who, Me?

  1. Julie says:

    Congratulations :)

  2. Oh, my….. Thank you so much for your very kind and generous words. I speechless! (which is rare for me….) :) :) :)

    • Michelle, you deserve every one of those words! I am also seldom speechless, and the last time I was speechless, was when the Boston Red Sox won the World Series for the first time in 86 years! But that was back in 2004, so it’s been over seven years since the last time I was speechless. But there have been times since then that I wish I’d been speechless, and they almost always involve my wife. Because seldom being speechless can get a guy like me into big trouble sometimes! Lol ;-)

      • Most of the time when I’m speechless it’s because I’m literally biting my tongue so I won’t put my foot in my mouth, or say something that will put me on my victims top ten hit list.

  3. greatmartin says:

    Okay, who did you pay off??????????????? LOL
    I found you–I clicked on following you so get ready for my sparkling comments!!!

    • Why, I paid off many people, Martin… And I paid them off with my sparkling sense of humor, which brought them laughter and joy. :-)

      I’m glad that you finally found me again, and I’m fully ready for all your sparkle, so bring it on! Lol

  4. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post. I enjoyed reading your blog today.

    If you love to write we would love for you to join us!

    Writer Jobs

  5. xandimusic says:

    Congrats and well deserved!!! Peace
    xandi

  6. greatmartin says:

    Writing Jobs, that is pure spam!

  7. Great job Chris! Well deserved – you’ve had me in stitches a few times. Keep up the good work & keep those blogs coming!

Leave a Reply

