Awarded! Who, Me? Again??

Yes folks, lightning has struck twice, and as I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been nominated for two awards in one week. This post is about the second one.

I am very grateful to Kirsty Ballard of FlashingForMoney at http://flashingformoney.wordpress.com/ for taking the time to read and enjoy my blog, and showing some true gratitude by nominating me for The Versatile Blogger Award. Kirtsy, I sincerely appreciate it, and thanks so much for your generosity.

According to the requirements of the award I must:

• Nominate 15 other bloggers

• Inform my nominees

• Share 7 random facts about myself

• Thank those who nominated me

• Add a picture of the award to this post

Okay, so let’s get down to those 15 nominations.

1. Becoming Cliche – This woman is becoming cliche in name only, because she’s delightfully different and she makes me laugh every single time I read her posts.

2.  Between the Bars  – Jennifer Tresh works with small children who are sick and or dealing with emotional trauma. When I read her post Conversations With Kids – 5 Yr Old Wonders I was deeply moved.

3. Erin Writes – An aspiring author of a book yet to be published, Erin is also very amusing, and if you’re a writer trying to get published, do yourself a favor and read D-O-N-E. Done. (Ish) She’s included a video that is one of the funniest I’ve seen in a while.

4. FiftyFourandAHalf – Someone I just recently discovered, and I’m very happy that I did. Read her stuff and you’ll be happy too!

5. greatmartin  – Martin is a 76 year old gay man who reviews movies, plays and musicals. Martin is a lot what I’d be like if I was a 76 year old gay man. Martin will tell you that I have delusions of grandeur for saying that, and he’s probably right. The key to having fun with Martin is to engage him with comments.

6. lifeinthefarcelane – She’s the New Zealand wonder from down under! She’s also refreshingly honest and direct, introspective, very perceptive, and also very funny. I always look forward to reading anything she writes. 

7. Live, Nerd, Repeat – This guy posts very off the wall and bizarrely funny stories with cartoons. If you’re looking for something really different, this is it.

8. Motley News – Michelle is intelligent, funny, and multi-talented, and her blog is proof of that. Check it out.

 9. Mrs. D. Ranged In AZ – I found her just recently, and she’s another very intelligent and multi-talented woman. Her blog has a wealth of variety and I’m looking forward to exploring it more thoroughly.

10. Robotic Rhetoric – An 18 year old guy from Great Britain with an awesome vocabulary that he skillfully uses to express his uniquely unusual and very humorous perspective on life and the world around him.

11. Societal Confusion – A guy who uses photos and original captions in ways that result in some very funny reading. His sharp edged sarcasm makes me laugh every time I read his posts.

12. The Man Pub – “Where a Man can be a Man and not told to Shut Up!” Ladies are invited, but please behave yourselves – even when us guys don’t…

13. The Mental Ward – Jessica Ward is a very candidly perceptive and skillfully introspective writer who also has a talent for writing humor when she’s in the mood to be amusing. I think she’s very good and I have a lot of respect for her.

14. Worldmusic – This guy has a massive music collection from all over the world, and he adds more to it almost every day. Tired of listening to the same old shit? Then go to his blog and expand your ears.

15. Your Pal Jason – He’s my pal Jason and he can be your pal Jason too! He has a true talent for humorous sarcasm, and when I read his post The Neighbor Who Broke Christmas I was hooked.

A word of advice before you read any further… Check out the links for the nominations above, instead of wasting your time reading the rest of this post. Because self knowledge can be a very good thing, and since I have your best interests at heart, I’m trying to give you the benefit of my self knowledge right now.

But if you insist on reading further here, well here’s my 7 random and rambling facts about me, and don’t say that I didn’t warn you.

1. In 1965 when I was nine years old, I used to watch this TV show called “Branded” starring Chuck Connors as a disgraced U.S. Cavalry Captain who was wrongfully accused of cowardice for running away, when all his troops were slaughtered by an Indian ambush. He was cursed to wander the wild west like a fugitive, and once a week, some obnoxious cowboys would recognize him, and call him a yellow bellied coward, giving Chuck no choice but to prove his manhood by savagely beating the crap out of his chicken shit and small penised accusers.

It was an inspiring message for boys in their formative years, and helped us to grow up into the kind of men that some of us eventually became, such as becoming incarcerated for a history of violence.

TV dramas back then were often big on playing melodramatic theme songs at the start of the show. Below are the lyrics of the theme song for “Branded”

Branded

All but one man died.
There at Bitter Creek.
And they say he ran away.

Branded, scorned as the one who ran.
What do you do when you’re branded, and you know you’re a man.

Wherever you go, for the rest of your life
You must prove, you’re a man.

But being a peculiar child from very beginning, my nine year old boy mind couldn’t resist changing the lyrics, and then walking around the house and singing them as follows:

Awarded

All but one man died.
There at Bitter Creek.
And they say he fought and stayed.

Awarded, praised as the one who stayed.
What do you do when you’re awarded, and you know you’re a maid.

Wherever you go, for the rest of your life
You must prove, you’re a maid.

Not exactly real funny stuff, but hey I was only nine, and my two older brothers soon cured me of my annoying singing by beating the crap outta me. But as you can see here, I never forgot my revised lyrics. I guess it was a sign of things to come…

And if I’ve got to write seven things about myself, and that was only No. 1, well looks like I better pick up the pace here! OK, will do!

2. This is NOT a picture of me!

There’s been this persistent and silly rumor on the web for a while now, that this is me. It’s not. So all you women out there can stop burying my e-mail with sexually explicit propositions and fervent marriage proposals, and some of you guys out there can also stop it too, because once and for all, this is NOT me!

This is a picture of the real me. Okay, so it’s kind of an old picture of me, but at least it really is me, and I think that the photo does a good job of expressing my personality.

3. I have a Mustang.

Do YOU have a Mustang? Or do you just really wish you had a Mustang? (yes, I know that I can be a prick sometimes – like right now for example.)

4. I met my wife scuba diving and I saved her life on the very first day we met. It made a lasting impression on her, and we’ve been together ever since, for the last 24 years. No joke.

5. In 1992 I was swimming in Casco Bay off coastal Maine, when I got caught in a strong current that swept me over six miles out to sea. I was in 60 F degree water for over seven hours and only minutes away from going unconscious and drowning, when I was spotted and rescued by a family in a sailboat. I was hospitalized with severe hypothermia, and my story made the local TV news.

6. I’ve been to Hawaii three times for a total of six weeks.

7. Although I love to write humor, I also write serious short stories about some of the adventures I’ve experienced in my life, both planned and unplanned. I have over 300 pages worth of short stories written, and it’s my goal in 2012 to get them published.

So… two awards in one week. I was very modest and humble about the first one, but I won’t feign any modesty for the Versatile Blogger Award, because I know that I AM a Versatile Blogger!

I blog at home in my study on my PC. I blog at work on my employer’s PC. I blog at Starbucks on my laptop. I blog on the PCs in public libraries. I blog on whatever computers I can find in the homes of friends and relatives, no matter how irritated they get with me about it! Some night I might even break into your house and blog on your computer, and you’d better not try to stop me!

I’ll blog in any place, at anytime, anywhere I can grab a keyboard that can get me online!!!

Versatile Blogger? You bet your A double S that I AM!!!

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Awarded! Who, Me? Again??

  1. greatmartin says:

    1) I told you to stop using MY picture and telling people it was you–those jeans have been torn to expose the better parts of me–the chest is just a distraction
    2) Yes we all know you are versatile in more ways than just blogging!
    3) What did you do to MY Mustang??? It WAS a convertible!

    • 1. Welcome back Martin! I missed you! :-) And I had NO idea that using your pic as a joke just one time, would turn into the out of control situation that it has become for me!
      2. My reputation for being versatile in many ways is well deserved, and thank you for agreeing with me.
      3. Oh, come on Martin! We both know that of the two of us, that I am the one who is a convertible, while you are definitely a hard top… But it’s still MY Mustang, so in this case, it’s a moot point.

  2. Jason says:

    Thanks a lot man! I really appreciate it!

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination! I’m honored. I DID want a mustang. In high school I was very jealous of a friend who got one in candy apple red. Oh man that was an awesome car. I think I still want one. If only it would fit 3 car seats in it. *sigh* Sport wagon/wannabe SUV it is then.

    Oh, and I will do my best to stop the vicious rumor regarding your picture.

    • You are very welcome and most deserving of it!

      Of course you want a Mustang, Erin. There are two types of people in this world – those who want a Mustang, and those who lie about not wanting a Mustang. Do you know what I find the most satisfying about driving a Mustang? Guys in BMWs who look at me with this pissed off expression on their faces, because they know that even though their cars cost three times more than mine, they are forced to admit to themselves that my car looks much cooler than theirs. It’s a feeling that I’ll never get tired of enjoying.

      Oh, and thanks for offering your help with regard to the slanderous photo that is NOT me! Sometimes, when I think of all the damage that it’s done to my reputation, it’s enough to cause me to fight back burning tears of hot humiliation and shame.

  4. Wow! Congratulations! And thank you for the nomination! Now have two to do. Blue Hills Photo also awarded me the Reader Appreciation Award – which is listing the top 6 bloggers who comment. So… I comment a lot. :)

    I do almost always check out all the blogs listed in these awards. I love it! This is how I’ve found so many wonderful bloggers.

    Now… on to a couple of your 7 items….

    * That was MY picture before I went through a sex change operation….

    * The Mustang. OH MY GOD!!!!!!!! Is this the year that is modeled after the 1967 Shelby Mustang GT500? Also known as “Eleanor”????? I’d give my left nut to have an original. Wait, I already gave my left nut when I had the sex changed. :) (I’m kidding, born a woman, and will die a woman – but small breasted, so I won’t have the saggy boobs down to my navel, but definitely getting the wrinkles.)

    * Incredible story about meeting your wife.

    * And so glad you were rescued when pulled out to sea. You add quite a shine to the internet, and I’m sure to many others lives as well – including your wife.

    • Thanks for the congrats Michelle, and you are most definitely a versatile blogger, so you deserve that nomination! And congrats on the Reader Appreciation Award! Because as bloggers, we all love comments, and it’s kinda like “Love me? Love my blog.” so you’re making a lot of people happy, and that includes me. :-)

      That was YOUR picture? My buddy Martin told me it was HIS picture! And now we know that you both can’t be right – but Martin is always telling me things that aren’t necessarily true, like how great he is, so I’m more inclined to believe you.

      Being a Mustang lover most of my life, I know about the legendary Shelby GT500, and although it’s true that Ford recently put it back into production, mine is not a GT500, but modeled after a 1970 Mustang that is still more than cool enough for me to love! (got a big LOL out of your “left nut” comment!) :-)

      So Michelle, are you telling me that your name used to be Michael? LOL! But however amusing, I know that you are ALL woman, and you always have been, and I’ve seldom been wrong about that in my experience as a man.

      It could be said that I saved my wife’s life on that first day we met, and she’s spent the rest of her life trying to save mine, but now that’s a long story… I’m also very glad that I got rescued, and thanks so much for all your kind comments. :-)

      • Well, technically, my name is French for Michael… :D
        I still love your ‘stang. I still think it looks a LOT like an Eleanor.
        Thanks again for the nomination! May take a day or two to get mine together, but I already know 2 of the 7 unknown things about myself… which are real goodies!

        Keep on blogging, my friend. It’s addicting…. I know. I can’t stop.

  5. xandimusic says:

    Congrats Chris!! And so much thanks!!
    Peace
    xandi

  6. Chris you brought back fond memories when you talked about Branded – I remember watching this as a youngster too! Thanks for all the nominations – it gives me a good list to check out

    • Hi Lynda! So cool that at least one other person here remembers “Branded”! So thanks for that. :-) I hope that you do enjoy those other bloggers on my list, and I have a feeling that you will. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. drangedinaz says:

    Chris,

    Thank you for nominating me! I appreciate it. PS: I’m not a Mustang kind of lady…I would actually prefer a Harley.

    • You are very welcome and most deserving! And I think that Harleys are great – until it rains… ;-) But to each, his or her own, and mucho bueno extra credit to anyone who has a Mustang AND a Harley!

  8. drangedinaz says:

    Chris, I am putting together my list of 15 blogs….do they all have to be non-pros? And do they all have to be WordPress blogs? Thanks!

    • Sorry that I didn’t get back to you, but I see that you managed to do a fine job with your acceptance post. I’ve been crazy busy the last few days, and sorry I didn’t reply.

  9. *sighs deeply*
    Back soon, coffee calls…

    Brat ;)

  10. Pingback: The envelope please! « lifeinthefarcelane

  11. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award « Motley News

  12. Well, I finally got around to passing on The Versatile Blogger Award you gave me nearly a month ago. Yeah yeah… I procrastinated. http://motleynews.net/2012/02/05/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    And thanks, again, for the honor of the Award!

Leave a Reply

