My Love Affair With Cars

Just as a follow up to my last post on February 29th, describing the  attempted but failed repossession attempt on my 2007 Ford Mustang,  as of yesterday, I voluntarily paid off the remaining balance of my car loan in full. Ford Credit and their repo henchmen will never have another shot at what is now legally and undeniably MY car.

I think I’ll frame my ownership title and hang it up on the wall in my study.

Since I was 17 years old, I’ve had a passionate and ongoing love affair with my cars. My very first car was a 1967 Mustang 289 Fastback V-8 standard transmission stick shift. It looked almost identical to this car pictured here, except that instead of red, mine was a deep blue.

How did I get this car? Just before the summer between my sophomore and junior years in high school, my Uncle made me an offer… He told me that if I worked a full 40 hour week in his automotive garage for the entire summer, without a paycheck, that by Labor Day in September, this car would be all mine.  I jumped at the chance, and to this day, I still think it’s one of the all time best deals I’ve ever made in my entire life.

Because eventually September came, and on the first day of high school for my junior year, I drove to school in this car. It’s hard to describe just how proud I felt, driving in that car. There were some other kids my age who were driving to school at the time, but most of them were tooling around in their moms’ station wagons. This was very different.

A year earlier, I first learned how to drive a standard transmission in my older brother’s VW Bug. It was a little tricky that first day, but after bucking forward and stalling out a few times, I picked it up pretty quickly.

The standard transmission in my 1967 Mustang was different, because there was so much more power in that V-8 engine. I remember one time when I had to come to a stop on the upward incline of a hill, at a stop light. The intersection was right in front of my high school, and school was out for the day, so there were a bunch of kids milling around where I was at that stop light in my car.

When the light turned green, I started to roll slightly backwards and I let the clutch out too fast, while hitting the gas. The Mustang responded by burning screaming rubber in a cloud of blue smoke and racing forward, as I frantically shifted into a higher gear.

A large group of the high school kids watching, cheered loudly because they thought I was burning rubber and skidding forward on purpose, to make a statement about what a bad ass I was… The truth was, that I hadn’t learned yet how to properly to drive my car, but I wasn’t about to make a public statement revealing my inexperience.

That Mustang was my first love… There were other cars I loved, that came in the years after it. Maybe I’ll blog about those cars as well…

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Humor, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Love Affair With Cars

  1. trixfred30 says:

    I learned to drive in my Dad’s Vauxhall Cavalier (don’t ask). I also learned how to do burn outs in that car. He doesn’t know that (25 years later) – Put your foot down, pop the clutch and let it go. I don’t think I should have passed my test really.

    • Somehow your comment ended up in spam and I just rescued it. MY Dad ALSO had a Vauxhall, but I was only three at the time, and a little too young to drive it. I called it “the Boxall”, and I remember it as very small compared to our other car, which was a big late 1950s Plymouth, and built like a tank. Thanks for the memories, and thanks for stopping by.

  2. A 1967 Mustang 289 Fastback V-8????!!!!!???? Oh… I AM SO JEALOUS!!!!!!!! Such a sweet sweet car! I thing the only ‘stang better is Eleanor. Alas………….. (sigh)

    • First, all those lobsters, and now the 1967 Mustang… I really need to stop making you so JEALOUS!!! (kidding!) :-) But it was a sweet car, and why I’ve been in love with classic and retro Mustangs all my driving life.

  3. karmicdiva says:

    Congratulations. You’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award.

  4. speaker7 says:

    I see you just won an award! Congratulations! Let me also invited you to the longest game of Tag in the history of the universe.

    http://ramblingsandrumblings.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/tag-youre-it-no-im-it-no-you-aww-i-aint-gonna-play-anymore/

    • Thanks! :-) This is looking like a busy week, so it may take me a little while to respond, but still very much appreciated! I really enjoy your blog, so thanks for stopping by mine.

  5. Summer says:

    I had a 2002 Mustang Convertible back in the day (when I lived in FL). I miss that car so much! I’ve never had so much fun with a car as I had with that one.

    • The Mustang really was and is now again one of Ford’s best ideas. And cruising in a ‘stang convertible in FLA must have been great! Thanks for stopping by, and have a nice weekend!

  6. Thats quite the first car! Very hot! Have not yet driven a old Mustang but it one that’s certainly on my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

