A Very Patient Wife

I have a very patient wife. I know that she truly loves me despite some of the ways that I might get on her nerves at times, and last night was a very good example.

We had been watching TV together for two hours, taking in the latest episode of Downton Abbey, (see, I’m not ALL bad – how many guys out there watch Downton Abbey with their wives, without complaining, and actually enjoy it?) and then we watched The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, followed by The Colbert Report. We both enjoy ending a long hard day with lots of laughter.

By now it was late and we’d both had enough TV for the night. But just as I was about to turn the TV off, I switched from TiVo to live TV, and I saw her face… This woman’s face. I was transfixed… and instead of turning the TV off, I continued to watch her.

She is Princess Ameerah Al-Taweel of Saudi Arabia, and she is beautiful. She is also intelligent, articulate, and a publicly vocal advocate for womens rights in Saudi Arabia. You may know that in Saudi Arabia, women were only recently given the right to vote, and run as candidates in municipal elections just this past September, 2011. However, women in the Saudi Kingdom are still prohibited from driving, and they are legally subject to being accompanied by mandatory male chaperones for almost any public activity. So the womens rights movement in Saudi Arabia still has a long way to go…

But Saudi women have a powerful advocate in Princess Ameerah, who since she is a member of the Saudi Royal family, is able to speak out on their behalf with much less danger of serious repercussions.

Just letting you, my readers know, that I wasn’t just staring at her beautiful image on our TV last night, but that I was also actually listening to what she had to say, during her interview with Charlie Rose.

But then I was interrupted by my wife, who said “I thought that you were going to turn the TV off, Chris.”

“That was then…” I replied in a faraway voice. My wife looked at me as though she was on the edge of saying something cutting and sarcastic, but then paused, and instead she got up from the couch and came over to give me a genuinely affectionate kiss.

She smiled at me and said “I’ll leave you with your beautiful Arabian Princess now, because I’m tired and I’m going to bed. But try to learn something more about her, besides her measurements.”

“Will do!” I answered, smiling back at the wonderful and very patient woman that I love so much. (my wife – not the Saudi Princess)

Princess Ameerah Al-Taweel is a voice for positive change and social progress in a part of the world that really needs it. If you’d like to watch her interview with Charlie Rose, click on this link: Princess Ameerah and then click on the Princess to start the video.

 

About Chris Sheridan

I’m a 56 year old guy who is young (and immature) at heart, and I love humor and laughter. Married for 22 years, but still enjoy all the glories of womanhood everywhere, even while dedicated to one woman only - and I hope my wife never finds out about her!
This entry was posted in Humor, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Very Patient Wife

  1. cestlavie22 says:

    Lol! It is nice to see that your wife is patient with you. My love of Josh Krajcik isnt met with as much patience with the boyfriend but maybe with time! Thank you for educating me about this woman I am all about woman’s rights and I am all ears when it comes to Women’s rights around the world!

    • Josh Krajcik, huh? Well I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for my wife making eyes at that guy, cause I just don’t appreciate that kind of competition! Lol ;-)

      Yes, my wife is a very patient woman, and I do my best to try and keep her entertained so she’ll continue to be that way… And yeah! Women’s rights all the way! The only men who are opposed to women’s rights are either ignorant, stupid, scared, or all of the above! Fist bump! Chest bump! Hip grind! Okay… trying to not get too carried away here… Lol ;-)

  2. You are very fortunate, my friend. And the day you stop appreciating women either for beauty or mind – or both – is the day that she needs to start worrying. That is the way I have always felt in a relationship. You may look and admire, it’s perfectly normal. Just so you come and lay down next to me in bed at night. (and no touching on the way)

  3. benzeknees says:

    Hi Chris – as promised I checked this from my home computer & sure enough I had no problem posting a comment. Maybe it’s the different computer I have at work since I changed assignments this week. If it keeps up just know I am reading your blogs, I may just not be able to comment because I spend so many more hours at work than at home. Love your writing!

    • Not meaning to be rude here by jumping in, but I’ve noticed something very similar. At work, I can comment, but I have to enter in my name and email. But at home, I don’t have to. Odd….

Leave a comment